Double language learning challenge for three months +1 Polish and Afrikaans

After having just completed my first language learning challenge with how-to-learn-any-language.com, where I shockingly ended up in the top 10, I’ve just decided to participate in this new and extremely fun challenge started by Brian Kwong .  From September 23 until December 31 I will both continue trying to improve my Polish, and add Afrikaans into the mix as well.  I’m focusing on two different skills for each language:  for Polish I’ll focus on listening and speaking, and for Afrikaans I’ll focus more on reading and writing.  I don’t think I can really say I’ll only work on these skills for the whole time, but this will always be my focal point. 

 

Game Plan:

For right now, the plan is to study each language 1 hour per day, no days off allowed!  This should be manageable, but I’ve always taken one day off at some point in my language studies, so even with it only being a full two hours, this is definitely a challenge.  One particular challenge of this which I don’t want to underestimate is the fact that I’m trying to learn two languages at the same time, while not being particularly advanced in either.  My German and Polish learning experience doesn’t really count because I already spoke German pretty well at that point.  I think both of my languages have advantages:  I’m not a true beginner in Polish, having studied some 275 hours or so, but Afrikaans is definitely going to be much more familiar to me.  I’m going to be very interested in seeing how my skills are in the two languages by the end of the year, and whether the way I think it will work out actually is what happens. 

I’ll try to post video updates pretty regularly as well as update here, and I hope you’ll follow along as I challenge myself to reach my goals! 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Double language learning challenge for three months +1 Polish and Afrikaans

  1. Simo

    I’ve read some of your blog posts and I think they’re pretty interesting. You’ve just gained one more reader. Keep them coming! 🙂
    Just out of curiosity, why did you choose to learn Afrikaans? Do you speak (or have some background in) Dutch?

Leave a Reply

